Foxy's Folio

By KF

Another Day, Another Chiringuito

Having slept the sleep of the exhausted, it was a bit of a later start this morning than yesterday. I ventured out into the quiet city streets, in search of something to take back for breakfast. 

My Spanish obviously needs improving as I didn’t come back with a full complement of pastries and the cheese and ham roll I thought I’d ordered was minus the cheese: in my defence the lady behind the counter may have been distracted by the animated conversation she was enjoying with her colleague!

Not quite suitably refreshed, we walked further along the seafront today, stopping at a cafe where my command of the language was exposed again when I ordered an iced coffee and got a back coffee, accompanied by a glass with some ice in it! Again in my defence (!), they didn’t have printed menus, you had to scan a QR code to access it and, as I hadn’t bothered paying for roaming this week, that was beyond me - it probably would have been anyway - so I couldn’t look to see what I should have been asking for.

We got as far as the former fishing village of Pedregalejo, where the cottages have largely been converted to holiday homes but the general vibe is still unspoilt and quiet, despite the handful of bars and chringuitos; just a trio of small sandy beaches separated by rocky promontories where a few families were having fun.

This time I negotiated lunch of sardines, whitebait and fried aubergines with no problems - the waiter was paying attention / making allowances obviously. The blip shows the traditional way of barbecuing skewers of sardines?

The walk back was punctuated with a stop to sit and read for a while- and watch some energetic locals exercising in one of those open air gyms - and an ice cream in the shade of the cathedral.

Tonight, we were really too full to eat much but managed a few tapas, shared a carrot cake with cinnamon ice cream - oh, and somehow a “small” cheeseboard; a good job we’d already clocked up over 20000 steps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.