Foxy's Folio

By KF

Come With Me To The Casbah*

After a more successful foray for breakfast (i.e. I actually came back with what I thought I ordered), we set off for the Alcazaba, the old Moorish fortress near the Cathedral which, after nearly 1000 years and some serious renovation, I still a peaceful haven of cool shade, mosaic pavements, arched doorways, fountains and rivulets of running water, despite the presence of large school parties more interested in selfies than Moorish architecture.

I thought the extra of the inner patio was going to be my main blip but on our walk up to the castle (see the other extra showing the castle from the Alcazaba), this red squirrel appeared and stole the show. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen one and certainly not this close.

After the lung busting climb to the castle, a tour round it and some refreshments, it was back down to sit by the beach to read for an hour or so before strolling back along the port where the most enormous yacht owned by a Kazakhstani billionaire is moored. We settled for an ice cream.

Our apartment block has a rooftop terrace where we enjoyed a complimentary pina colada before a tapas dinner this evening.

* Apparently, Charles Boyer never said this in the film Algiers, just as Humphrey Bogart never asked Sam to play it again in Casablanca. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.