A day in the life

By Shelling

End of road

At the top of the road leading from my house, is the main road, connecting north and south of my island. Some ten thousand years BC, when fishermen and hunters started moving north after the las of the ice was melting away and my island started to appear above the water, this road was slowly formed as a means of communication, according to the archeologists. That makes it one of the really old roads still in use. In those days the sea was much higher, or rather, the island was still rising from the pressure of the ice. The road followed the coastline more or less and my house would've been below sea level. When I go up the road, I can't actually see the the rest of the world, only cars passing along the road, what I like to call "La Linea" (The line), after the Italian cartoon.
 
Each time I go up the hill I tell myself there might not be anything on the other side, that's one way to make the everyday be a bit more exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.