A day in the life

By Shelling

Feeding

I'm a bit reluctant but I still feed the birds during the coldest period to help them keep their body temperature. I feed them two things, fat-balls, containing some fat mixed with small seeds in the wheel-feeder and then wheat and other grains in the roof-covered feeder. At this photo session, only a few species were present, mainly tree-sparrows and great tits (can  write that?) Usually I can have a lot more species around, even the woodpeckers are very fond of the fat-balls. What worries me a little is that feeding not only attracts birds. There is a good chance mice and rats find their way here too and I'm not too interested in that.

It's been another stormy day today, not quite as bad as a couple of days ago but things were certainly flying about, mostly twigs and branches though, I've secured tarpaulins and furniture out there. Hoping for the best. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.