Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Feathered Puffball

It’s a long overdue walk in RSPB Conwy this afternoon - springlike sunshine inviting us  outside. G manages a complete circuit, but my walking’s troubling me, so I take a shorter route. 

There’s definitely an increase in visible - and audible - bird life since our last visit, and the ubiquitous robins are joined by other songsters. There’s a group of little blue tits fluttering around near the path, though typically my presence sees them fly up into the more distant trees. Still, I manage a shot of this very fluffy puffball of feathers, busily grooming in the branches - my main today (better large on black).

Pausing in one of the hides, it’s hard to make out the varieties of duck silhouetted against the afternoon sunlight, but I suspect the elegant shape of some indicates gadwall - and I’m right. New ducks to me, I just love the delicate markings of the male. Distance and back light mitigate against the shot I’d like, but there’s a pair in extras. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.