ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

I Can Learn

Went through to Barrow today to work on developing some of the songs Stu and I are hoping to perform later this year. One of the originals we’re doing was written and recorded several years ago and Stu has had to deconstruct it in order to give me a bass line to learn. Of course, having a bass line to learn and actually learning said bass line are two completely different things, but it’s slowly sinking in.
We had more joy with one of the covers we’re thinking of doing. Rather than a straight copy of the original, we’re putting our own spin on it, and I left Stuart happily creating strings and keys parts for the backing track we will be using. It’s a song we’ve done in the past, so I know the bass line, but I’m going to mix it up a bit this time.
There are still a couple of numbers - which we’ve played before - to work on, but my next big challenge is to come up with some lyrics for a new blues song. We’re working on a slow shuffle in A, with plenty of wailing lead guitar, and I need to write some suitably depressing lines for the full on blues experience.
“My baby done left me…”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.