Keith B

By keibr

A job to get done (in the rain)

In the main photo I'm standing on the bathroom roof, looking up towards our chimney. On Monday the sweep is coming to our area and will clean the chimney connected to our log-burner stove. To do that he will expect that his route up to our chimney is clear of snow, which is why I'm now standing on the roof of our bathroom. I've cleared the bathroom roof and am now about to set off up the sloping roof.
Unfortunately it is raining and water is soaking through the snow and running off the roof. A lot of it seems to land on me and after a while my trousers are sopping wet. I reached that point when I had to work hard, to keep warm, so I could carry on working hard. But it worked and the roof ladder is now clear of snow and ready for the sweep on Monday.
While I was doing this Jan was clearing up The Red House and doing washing in the cellar, while a guy from Comfort was fitting a new heat exchanger onto Betty's. (More detail on all that in Jan's blip.)
When I came in from my soggy job I decided to bake some bread. That is an excellent way to warm up. Because our guests have issues with gluten I've not been baking for a while and it was lovely to get into the stretch and folds, the kneading, the shaping etc. We needed bread for the soup so it needed to be a quick bread. Yeast bread in the form of rolls fitted the needs. Fun to bake and tasty to eat. (extra).
After all today's physical work tiredness is setting in so I'm posting this blip and then it's off to rest for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.