Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Sweet Victory!

No, I wasn't there in front of the Supreme Court for the celebration - it's a photo of my laptop screen with the news of today's amazing Supreme Court decision overturning the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA), clearing the way for gays and lesbians to have legally recognized marriages.

It's the same sort of feeling I had watching Barack Obama take the oath of office -- I never thought I'd see this in my lifetime.

I did not grow up gay. I'd been in heterosexual relationships until about 20 years ago when I fell in love with a woman. I truly feel like I went through a physiological and emotional transition; my sexual orientation shifted - and rocked my world!

All that is to say I've had it pretty easy, coming out in a time and place where being gay was beginning to be accepted, where it didn't feel dangerous or scary to be out. But my partner Laurie and a number of our friends had different experiences. They grew up knowing they were gay, or came out as young adults in a world that vilified them, told them they were sick or evil, when all they wanted was to follow their hearts, declare their authentic selves and live lives of integrity and love. Many of them had to lie or risk everything - job, family, home, children; many were ostracized, disowned, physically and emotionally abused by family members or by complete strangers. They were forced to live two lives - one public and one private. Imagine not being able to acknowledge your spouse at a party, or talk about your weekend with co-workers; imagine worrying that you might be spotted holding hands with your sweetie and end up losing your job over it. Or worse. Imagine not even being able to imagine that one day you might legally marry the person you love with all your heart.

We have witnessed remarkable changes over the last few decades; tolerance leading to acceptance leading to acknowledging the rights of LGBT folks. I feel blissful tonight, being witness to this amazing turn of events, to what feels like a major shift in human development. And I am so grateful to all those who went before me, who blazed the rainbow trail, who suffered and worked and sacrificed so that others of us could be recognized as full citizens, entitled to all the rights given the other 90%. I am so proud of the people who worked to make this happen!

Adverb/adjective challenge: BLISSFUL

Note: I've posted a new challenge for July, one based on song titles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.