SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Aubergine

Today was eventful. This morning I realised how I should have been implementing the new technique, but the temptation to work on it meant that I was too late to join the "Parkrun" in Sofia's South Park. However, I still did a fast run until I got too hot and abandoned at 4km (in 19 minutes). 

Afterwards, I had a bit of time in the apartment, before joining И and her boyfriend at Aubergine, a bistro with a very Western European vibe close to where I'm staying. We had good food and craft beers, before picking up two friends of theirs and heading off to the National Historical Museum outside the city. There I filled in gaps in my basic understanding of Bulgarian history, and saw the (copies) of the famous 6th Century BC Thracian gold artefacts that were found in 1949. 

From the museum we headed into the city centre, where we joined the Manchester United Supporters Club of Sofia at a nightclub to watch the game against Fulham. It was a poor game until the last 10 minutes when United equalised, only for Fulham to win it. 

Things picked up when we went off to join И's parents for dinner at the Stambolov restaurant. Before we got there, there was a wonderful moment when she rang them to coordinate, only for me to realise that they were walking a couple of meters from us! Food-wise, we were back to traditional Bulgarian fare, and it was good to feel the welcome I get when I'm with the parents. There was the welcome news that a friend of И whom I also know well was returning to Sofia today, so I should get to meet her tomorrow. 

Now to get back to work...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.