Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Well I didn't know that!

Stupid, probably, because I expect you all did, but I never realised female mallards had white underwings!

I captured this lovely girl having a bath in the river this morning.  There's a second shot in extras.  It was really a very pretty morning, though that soon faded away and the second half of the day's been grey and damp.  I went into town and bought a Sunday paper which had a long piece about Isabella Tree and her second book about rewilding the Knepp Estate in Sussex (they have the first storks to breed in this country for 600 years, large tortoiseshell butterflies officially extinct here and beavers - what's not to like?)  A friend and I visited a few years ago and were bowled over by the place.  Now, of course, I not only want to buy the book but visit again and see developments.

Dear blipfriends, I'm trying really hard to catch up with you all but know I'm going to mess up with some of you just because that's the kind of muddle-head I am.  Give me a nudge if I'm not doing what I should.

And have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.