Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Butterfly Reserve

Today I had an afternoon in the butterfly reserve - quite cold but very beautiful.  The wind is always strong up there and today was blowing a hoolie!  

I actually went up to look at the state of the vegetation, thinking some of you might want to do another season of the WildFlowerWeek challenge?  Well I can tell you there are cowslips plants growing in their thousand-millions and although they're not yet out a few do have the beginnings of flowering stems and tiny buds - exciting!  There were also daffodils, clearly garden escapes, though how they got there I don't know.  And hundreds of violets growing along one of the paths, which need a macro lens.

I also got a few shots of the female kestrel.  She was rather too far away so the quality isn't special, but I've put one in extras because it's always such a thrill to see her.

Okay, that's me.  Have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.