talloplanic views

By Arell

Penetration

I spent the morning sawing and then splitting the big pieces of wood that I collected after the storms.  The 38 year-old lump made an excellent base for chopping on, although there is now an equally large dent in the lawn.

When I came to the jaggy piece I blipped the other day,, it took very little effort with my splitting wedge.  I discovered that the fungus I'd stripped off along with all the bark it was growing on wasn't just superficial.  I'd no idea before, although I should have supposed, that actually, the fungus grows all through the grain.  Tendrils of white mycelium had wormed their way through every fibre, layer after layer.  So while I look for example at the magnificent and elderly bracket fungus that is on some of the old trees near here, both tree and fungus really must be as one 

I also fixed my flat back tyre.  They've been cutting the hedges rather brutally recently, and I pulled out a needle-like thorn over a centimetre long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.