talloplanic views

By Arell

Back in business

With my tyre all mended (and spare tube stowed) it was out to the shops after work for the usual supplies.  I managed not to break the French bread this time when I swung my leg over!

One of the panniers on Fidra has been a bit temperamental for, well a year at least, so I took the locking mechanism to bits today to find out how it worked and maybe discover what was wrong.  It's actually a neat bit of design with two prongs and some sliding brackets and springs and ballbearings, and an ingenious deadlocking feature.  It seemed it was nothing more than a decade and more of dust and grime that was causing it to jam slightly, so cleaned up and lightly lubricated it pops and clunks and engages nicely again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.