a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Getting my ducks in a row

After Saturday's Mallard and yesterday's Teal, here is another duck, this one is the male Wigeon.  Wigeon make a sort of whistling noise, which is quite distinctive - you'll know it if you've heard it .  Their dark eyes always remind me of a stuffed toy, they're the sort of button eyes that teddy bears are often given.  

I now recognise that I could have done with using an even faster shutter speed than the 1/3333th of a second I chose, as I'd wanted to get every part of the wing sharp, yet the tips are still blurred here.  The 1/5000th used on yesterday's Teal would have been more sensible although I suspect I might need an even higher shutter speed than that.  Still, it gives me something to aim at for next time I photograph these birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.