carliewired

By carliewired

72 F/ 22 C

The fabric store was
calling to me this morning -
I must....must obey!

~carliewired

I was up early making my coffee before the sunrise was scheduled. It was a grey dawn without colours this morning. I might have roused myself to go for breakfast with the painting group, but I could not find the energy to get there for 9 AM. By 10, I coaxed myself out the door to go for some fabric therapy. 

Grandma Jo's quilting shop has just changed hands so I was interested to see what I would find there now. I was pleasantly surprised to see it has kept its southwestern flavour and has added even more variety in the fabrics on the shelf. The staff remains friendly and helpful. Customers were keeping them all busy this morning. I came away with some lovely fabric and a couple of gifts for friends. Even the shopping bags are quilty. 

On the way home I detoured to 40th Street which edges on the desert. I stopped to get some shots of the wild purple verbena along the road's edge. Mixed in with the verbena are large white datura, a toxic and poisonous plant that is rather pretty. I kept my distance and took my shots from the driver's seat. 

I'm in for the day hoping it remains sunny. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.