Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Perky

Definitely the perkiest of all our backyard birds, the Tufted Titmouse exudes  cheerful optimism.  And  I definitely needed a dose of that today!  

In spite of having the usual sense of trying to run in knee-high mud that comes with depression, I managed to get some things ticked off my to-do list today including cleaning out one of our linen closets and getting rid of a huge bag of stuff.  I also cleaned out two kitchen drawers that had managed to become totally cluttered with stuff.  It's amazing how quickly we fill up space, isn't it?  Anyway, it felt good to get something done.  

I also took Jax for a walk, spent several hours outside sitting in the sun (it was 60 and sunny today!), had a nice long chat with one of my besties and did some laundry.  I also put the d850 with the Sigma 100-400 on a tripod and practiced.  I almost never use a tripod and as a result, I am very clunky and awkward with it.  And since most of the shooting in SA is going to be on tripods I felt like I needed to get more proficient.  Not that one day will make me good, but it helped.  I bought a gimbal head mount last year and hadn't done much with it, so this gave me some time to work on moving the lens around on the gimbal.  Having a high, thin cloud cover was also helpful as I wasn't dodging overblown whites and shadows today!

We watched a disappointing movie last night called "Monuments Men" which I wanted so much to like but didn't.  The story was great and it had an impressive cast of actors but the movie just floundered for me.  It seemed to jump back and forth between comedic and serious (the topic being the recovery of some of the great works of art that Hitler and his Nazis stole from Jews during WWII).  For me, the attempts at humor really didn't work and took away so much from a story that needed to be told.  Isn't it great to be a film critic?

Dark with sea salt and caramel today.  Delicious.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.