Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hi Key-ish Gull

Since I had to run into town to take care of a few errands this morning, I took the z8 along with me and made a side-trip to the parking lot where the gulls hang out.  It was raining pretty hard and the gulls were hunkered down looking borderline miserable.  But every so often, some of the gulls would life off and circle overhead.  White birds against a heavily overcast sky with steady rain - great fun!  Had to ramp up the ISO to higher levels than I usually like, but it was the only way to get the exposure where I wanted it.  Even so, I did quite a bit of exposure adjustment in LR, along with a heavy crop.  Still, a fun image I think.  This particular bird is a juvenile (second year, I believe)  ring-billed gull.  It hasn't yet developed the bright red eye-liner and lipstick it will have as an adult.

I am still trying to get through small tasks every day - it is one of my tools against depression and helps me to feel less "stuck".  When I am in a funk, it can be so hard to get anything done so my strategy is to make very small goals/tasks for myself - things that I can actually accomplish.  It really helps in terms of pulling myself out of the mud-pit.  

We watched "Invictus" last night, a wonderful movie with excellent acting and such a moving story.  Makes me want to search out some reading on Nelson Mandela to learn more about him.

I'm thinking dark with orange today, one of my favorite flavors.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.