Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Not so Tiny

I knew when it started snowing last night that I probably wasn't going to post something tiny today.  I cannot resist the birds when there is freshly fallen/falling snow.  And since Starlings aren't a bird that is commonly at my feeders (thank goodness) I thought I'd take this opportunity to add this species to my Yardbirds record for this year.  Starlings are one of the only birds I know of who are much prettier in the non-breeding season.  In summer, their plumage is rather drab; whereas now they are in full color.  I edited the background to be a solid white rather than patchy white as I think it works better here.  We got about 3 inches of snow overnight, so most of the background was nicely white.

I enjoyed a couple of sessions in the hide today while the feeder activity was at peak.  Happily, Jax was content to stay inside.  Of course, he'd already had several play sessions in the snow by then which helped.  It was so funny to watch him zooming around the yard in the snow - he is crazy-fast when he is running full out.  

I woke up this morning feeling better than I have felt in probably 3 months - only a little stiff but almost no pain in my lower back.  That's a huge win!  I suspect I'll be "released" from PT in a few weeks' time - then it will be up to me to maintain the core/glute/quad strength.  

Dark with mint today. And now I am off to start looking at the TinyTuesday images!  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.