Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Still Life

Wasn't feeling motivated to go outside and take photos today - it is very bright and sunny which is far from ideal for bird photography, especially when you add in the snow cover.  So, I started looking around the house, as one does...trying to see things through different eyes.  As is so often the case, my eyes kept drifting to my MIL's old Singer sewing machine that has a place of honor in our living room.  The machine was actually her father's so there's some history there.  And it has various spools of old thread on it which are all fascinating.  Oddly, I haven't photographed this one before.  It's large, about 2 inches tall and the thread is very thick.  It's yellowing with age which I think adds a great deal to the charm.  So, a few clicks with my macro lens and a few adjustments in LR and ... voila!

I started the day with a routine visit to my dentist.  I have a very uneasy relationship with dentistry but I have to say that I like this dentist a lot and he has the most gentle hygienist I've ever been to.  So, for once, my shoulders weren't up around my ears and I didn't have to remind myself to breathe.  And my teeth are clean and declared healthy for another six months.  Yay.

This afternoon I have PT.  I feel very good again today and am actually sort of looking forward to PT.  Except for the planks.  

I think dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.