Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Full Throttle Jax

Actually, he wasn't as fully invested in the game this afternoon as I'd hoped and I had to really work to get some decent action shots.  I like this one because you can see how intent he is in getting the toy.  He has mostly been snoozing today, which is normal after a full day at daycare.  Add to that a fairly long walk after lunch today ... well, I guess no surprise that he wasn't all that interested in running around the yard.

I have gotten a lot done today including cleaning our two guest bathrooms, making brownies and doing some prep on another dish I plan to make tomorrow when my besties are here.  Back to the brownies for a moment.  I bought a box mix for dark chocolate brownies (can't go wrong with that) and then I did some reading on some hacks to make them even better.  So, I added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and chili powder and substituted the 3 tablespoons of water with same of expresso (freshly brewed in our Nespresso machine).  Just before sliding it in the oven, I added some sea salt and bittersweet chocolate chips. Wow - the most delicious brownies ever!  The expresso and chili seem to add a great depth of flavor that will be hard for anyone to identify while the cinnamon was just the right amount for a subtle flavor.  It will be topped with some coffee ice cream from a local farm.  

Another bright sunny day here, although somewhat chilly.  Undaunted by winter, my miniature irises in the garden are bursting into bloom now which is doing a lot to lift my spirits.  Spring is coming...  Meanwhile, my parents were getting snow showers in Oregon today.  

Counting down to SA.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.