talloplanic views

By Arell

Mistaken identity

@knottman2 posted a photograph of his latest pot plant, an Opuntia microdasys succulent, known popularly as bunny ears cactus, and I thought, I've got one of those!

Except I don't think I do.  The pads of the bunny ears cactus are mostly flat, whereas mine aren't, although they seem to share the same yellow glochids that, frankly, are a menace.

I bought my plant because I appreciated and loved its hyperbolic form.  While it's pretty slow growing, having only produced two new pads since I brought it home from the garden centre, it has become increasingly crinkled, to put it into technical terms.  The thing is, apart from one photograph of a specimen in the Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix, I have never seen another, much less do I know the species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.