Colstro

By Colstro

Three Wise Monkeys

"See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil".  Ornaments in the lighthouse cottage we are staying in.  The only photograph I took during a very frustrating day.

My car was eventually transported to the tyre dealers this morning - but only after a delay because the driver of the recovery vehicle couldn't get past the gate to the lighthouse - and couldn't get hold of me by phone because there is no mobile signal here.  He had not been given the landline number I had provided.  I managed to get him back to the site and the car was loaded on to the transporter and I went with it to the tyre dealer.

The mechanic concluded that the tyre was undamaged from the pothole but that air was leaking around the rim.  His solution was to refit the tyre with sealant around the rim.  I then drove back to the lighthouse, by which time it was clear that the sealant had not prevented the leak. It looks like the wheel will need a more thorough refurbishment.  In the meantime, we are due to check out of the accommodation tomorrow morning and return home.

The breakdown company have now agreed to transport the car all the way from South Wales to my home in Hertfordshire, and to arrange a hire car to get the passengers home (they cannot guarantee sufficient space for us in the recovery vehicle).  Once home, I have found a local alloy wheel restorer who can collect the damaged wheel, repair the rim leak properly and return the wheel to me.

Arranging this with no mobile phone and very limited internet access was a bit like hard work, so I have achieved very little else today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.