Living my dream

By Mima

Ridiculously proud of myself

Instead of carefully pruning two of the four blackcurrant bushes I cut them right down. This is in the spirit of growing more sensible amounts of fruit next year. 

Happily my friend Marian wants these two surplus bushes, and she'll come over in the winter to help me dig them out. It will be quite a difficult task: the roots are widespread.

The remaining two blackcurrant bushes have been pruned to thin out the branches and allow more light into the centre. It was a job I put off last week while I was sorting things out for the A&P Show: one of several big tasks I need to catch up with.

I also removed the net from the soft fruit cage today. It's a job I have a love-hate relationship with because it's a wrangle to shift the 12m x 10m net and pull out all the weeds that grow through its edges. But it always feels a triumph when it's done and then I can get on with the pruning and tidying inside.

I finished reading "Would That be Funny?" By Lorin Clarke last night. It's a wonderful biography / autobiography about growing up with her father, the late-lamented John Clarke (Fred Dagg to Kiwi Blippers). 

And now I'm about to listen to "Conversations from a Long Marriage" from BBC Radio 4. What a delight...Roger Allam and Joanna Lumley are perfect.

Thank you for all the lovely comments about my pink rose yesterday.

Toodlepip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.