Bom

By Bom

New Month, Same Rain

Actually the title is not quite accurate, the rain and hail were interspersed by sunny spells today. I took this photo early before the rain started. My plumber from Corgi arrived just before 9, I showed him where the toilet was, he pressed the flush......and it flushed perfectly first time! Thankfully when the cistern filled up, it didn't then work and he confirmed that the siphon needed replacing. Then he found he couldn't undo the bolt connecting the pipe as it had corroded. He called Corgi and thankfully he was told to proceed. He finally removed it, he suspects the plumber that did the en-suite refit in 2019 didn't tighten the bolt correctly and it had leaked minutely, but enough to corrode it. He then had to get a replacement cistern bolt set, so I told him about CT Baker in Holt, builders merchant - he rang and they didn't have any. So he checked Screwfix in Cromer and they had two sets, so that was a 45 min round trip for him (I asked him to get the other £3 set for me, just in case). It didn't take him long after that to do the job, but in total he was here for 3 hours (including 45 mins on the phone). I asked if he normally did work in Holt, he said no, but Corgi paid his travel time to do the job as they didn't have anyone to do the job in North Norfolk. I bet he won't do that again! This afternoon I did some housework, boring but good to get it done. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.