talloplanic views

By Arell

Buddies

Until last Friday, when I happened to be going this way (a sort of back route that isn't really of use to me except to get to the shops sometimes), I didn't know there were llamas in this field.  I was winching myself home today, supermarket-bound, and thought they might make a nice photograph.  I never knew that they are descended from camels (or camelids), rather than sheep.  However, the more I read about them the more I think these are alpacas, not llamas, because of their short stature.

I had a terrible night's not-sleep having woken around 2am.  I read for a bit then gave up.  I tried the latest BBC Slow Radio podcast which was a recording of a sleeper train journey across Ukraine, and amazingly, I fell asleep again listening to it.  I wished it were a bit longer than 30 minutes though because I woke up again when the announcer ended the show.

Despite being not quite all there I cycled into town early to meet my friends for our roughly-monthly coffee-and-a-bun thing.  There were only the three of us today, which I quite liked, although Alice was having such a splendid series of rants that I mostly just listened.  And because I've been working too hard of late, I allowed myself a lazy start to the day, then powered through four hours of writing guidance and marking a colleague's work, before having a fairly relaxed mid-afternoon ride home in the wind.

My new William D Drake album arrived today so that's tomorrow's listening sorted out.  My new(ish) book also arrived! – but that's a top secret thing to be revealed at the proper time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.