A time for everything

By turnx3

“Laura’s tree”

Friday
In honour of Joe Tree Day, I am posting a picture of a tree at the bottom of our garden, which we refer to as “Laura’s tree”. Years ago, when Laura was in Elementary School, every year on Arbor Day, the children would come home with a small tree sapling. Out of the four years, either we didn’t bother planting it or they didn’t take, except for this particular one, which is still growing and thriving, and provides welcome shelter for the birds. Arbor Day in the U.S. is most commonly observed on the last Friday in April, though some states have moved the date to coincide with the best tree planting weather.
I have been blipping since May 2008, albeit rather erratically at times., and am so thankful to have stumbled across this wonderful unique social media site all those years ago. As I go through each day thinking of what to blip, it has opened my eyes to many things I previously took for granted, and made me more aware of my surroundings. It’s made me take more interest and have more curiosity in things I see when I am out and about. It creates a wonderful record of our lives, and a useful memory aid as we get older! In addition, of course, there’s all the people I’ve “met” around the world, and a few I’ve been able to meet in person. So this blip is with thanks and in honour of Blip’s founder Joe Tree, and also to those who keep this great site running day after day.
It was a grey day today, with rain in the afternoon and evening. So we chose swimming for our exercise today - 50 lengths today. We had to share lanes to start with, but it thinned out later. Dinner out in the evening - fish and chips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.