Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

A win for Newcastle United makes me smile

I walked down to the village this afternoon to pick up a parcel from Tesco.  Then I got a bus to Newcastle and headed for St James Park.  Newcastle had a home game against Wolves.

Before kick off we saw Mark Knopfler being interviewed. ( I couldn't hear a word he said though as the sound system at the ground is terrible)  He has formed a supergroup named Guitar Heroes comprising of 60 musicians who joined forces to play on " Going Home: Theme Of The Local Hero” -  the proceeds will raise money for the Teenage Cancer Trust. The track is due for release on 15th March.... I have already pre- ordered my copy.  " Local Hero" is played at every Newcastle home game as the players come out on to the pitch and today they played the new version. There was also a banner with the wording " Brothers In Arms " and an image of the Newcastle players.  " Brothers in Arms " is another track by Mark Knopfler/Dire Straits.  I have added a collage of Mark and the banner .( if you haven't listened to BROTHERS IN ARMS I would recommend it - its very moving )

The weather had been Ok before kick off but it soon started raining.  The rain was torrential at times.  I sit at the front of the East Stand and there is no cover. As well as getting wet from the rain you get large droplets coming down from the edge of the stand.    However....... when your team is playing well being wet doesn't seem to matter so much.

Newcastle were back on good form today. Lots of players had a good game.  Newcastle scored twice in the first half and thats how it stayed until the 92nd minute when Newcastle got a third goal. Final score Newcastle 3 Wolves 0.  So pleased they didn't concede a goal - they have let in so many goals in recent games that it was great to keep a clean sheet today.

The rain had just about stopped when I came out of the ground at 5pm .... and I had some time to fill so I headed to the bus station and did some shopping in Poundland.  Then I walked back towards the football ground to go to Costa to pick up a " Too Good To Go Bag" that I had reserved online yesterday.  My pick up slot was 5.30 - 6pm.  I got my bag and then went back to the bus station to get a bus home.

Raining again when I got off the bus but I didn't have far to walk to my house.  Straight out of my wet clothes into my PJ's... and then it was time to look inside my bag of goodies.  There were two packs of sandwiches ( egg mayo and chicken and bacon ) two tubs of melon pieces and 2 large chocolate pastry twists.  The bag cost me £3.50 - so it was well worth it.

As its Silly Saturday I decided to blip my new set of fun highlighter pens.  I bought them yesterday in Flying Tiger.  I have already used them when I went through the Radio Times and highlighted all the programmes I want to watch in the coming week.  Thanks to laurie54 for hosting Silly Saturday in memory of Admirer.

Steps today - 11,157

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.