Living my dream

By Mima

Furry feet

I have been overwhelmed by the response to my milestone Blip yesterday.  Thank you so much for living up to the billing I gave you! It was remiss of me to forget to thank Joe Tree for coming up with this place. 

It has been an 'interesting' weekend. 

My water pump went out of action completely on Saturday morning. This time I was able to diagnose the problem with some confidence thanks to my new-found vocabulary in Plumblish. The manual tells me that the pump is 'running dry', in that no water is reaching it from the water tank. Since the tank is full, it obviously isn't a leak. So there's a blockage in the pipe. 

Barry the plumber is set to return on Tuesday or Wednesday, when I hope he will wield his magic wand and blast the pipe clean. Or something equally quick and efficient.

In the meantime it's back to carrying water in containers up from the drive, and multiple boilings of the jug (kettle) for the purposes of cooking and washing up. 

With no shower in operation here, I nipped over the road this morning to avail myself of their facilities. And I have just arranged an excellent apricots-for-shower barter with the Blipping Macdubs for when I'm in town tomorrow.

During a conversation with a friend's parents yesterday, my concerns about the friend's relationship with his partner were confirmed. He is on the receiving end of bullying, manipulation and emotional blackmail from his very domineering girlfriend. His parents are worried sick that she may be violent too. We have all witnessed the emotional stuff that goes on, and it certainly seems to be getting more brazen. We are all on alert.

This afternoon has been much more uplifting, celebrating a significant birthday with a dear friend who has experienced some major medical issues over the years. There were presents, cake, coffee, laughter and banter. We are all grateful she is happy, healthy and still with us.

Of course various garden - and rather more kitchen - tasks have been squeezed in around other things. I have processed a bucket of tomatoes into passata and soup. Sourdough has been made and bartered. Nectarines have been bottled and apricots dehydrated. 

Bean has supervised in her own inimitable way.

She has a very thin coat, with hairs which only measure about 5mm long. All except the hairs between her pads, which are extraordinarily long. Weird dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.