TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The beginning of the Mrs Ottawacker birthday week

Quite the weird weather we are having at the moment. After yesterday’s highs, we had a flash-freeze, which normally means the roads are covered in deep ice and we’re all doomed to being housebound. However, as there was also a windstorm, the liquid was all blown away before it had a chance to freeze, so the roads are clear. Apparently, that is due to a process called ‘sublimation’. Is this the most boring opening paragraph I have ever written? Quite possibly.

Feedback from the NZ job I sent in yesterday, and the client is not too happy. Apparently, I missed a few things and he had to redo some of it. This, I think, the problem with trying to work outside your field and having absolutely no interest in what you are doing. I came on board as an editor and writer, not to write other people’s entries for international competitions. I suppose I am living proof that a little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing. I should have stood my ground initially, I suppose, and refused to do it.

Caught up on a few more blips; it’s Mrs Ottawacker’s birthday in a couple of days, so we are starting the big birthday week tonight. We always tend to celebrate a week en famille. We don’t do much, but it is nice to make a fuss. I am therefore on my way down to the kitchen to cook Mrs O’s choice of dinner: couscous, with chicken in the tajine. I can almost hear the groans Ottawacker Jr will be making when he comes home from school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.