pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Sowing time

I was awake quite early, so got up when Jon and Henry went to archery. Did 40 skips, then prepared veg for dinner before cycling to the allotment. I got very wet feet as I had forgotten to take off my trainers. Wellies are essential as it is sooooo waterlogged. I didn’t stay long, but had collected 2 sacks of horse manure from up our road, so added that to my compost heap to rot down for next year.

Got side tracked upstairs with doing some more for cuts, but when Jon got home he made drinks and we sat in the conservatory. I had already sorted all my seeds (before getting distracted) and had laid them out on the sofa. Jon kindly moved them to the table but in order!

I filled a load of pots with soil, and planted yellow courgettes, squash, spinach, lettuce, kale and sweet peas, plus delphiniums which if they grow won’t flower until summer 2025. I’m not very hopeful as I’m likely to forget they are in the pot! (Even with a label) These are the Feb/March seeds. More for April then beans to be planted in May.

Did some clearing and digging, and removing crocosmia from my garden and grass. It’s just spreading and I want to get rods of it now. But it is only half done and I’ve left it. To come back to on another weekend.

I did more skips at lunch and the final block at tea time. Cooked roast pork dinner for just 3 of us today. Made a bit of a boob (not concentrating again) and cooked everything based on 1 hour 29 minutes for the pork. When Jon carved it, it was very pink…of course it was 129 minutes. I had to put it back in the oven for another 40 minutes! It was all good in the end, and worth the wait!

Now enjoying the pottery throw down. Then death in paradise. Need to do some writing but it isn’t happening. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll be inspired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.