An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A day of funny little moments...

We arranged for Agnes and Adrian to be at ours around midday, which they were, and we set off to the Arts and Antique Centre in Abernyte.  Neither of them has been there before so they were looking forward to seeing round the place and all the little curious items I'd promised would be there.

D had booked a table in the cafe for lunch so we went straight there.  I had been telling Agnes about the huge murals on the walls of the cafe with photographic scenes of Harris.  The last time D and I were there I was facing the mural of Luskentyre beach and it was wonderful :-)  Well the cafe has had a makeover and the murals have been replaced with huge floor to ceiling abstract landscape paintings, which are lovely, but not a patch on the wonderful shots of Harris in my opinion.

We had a lovely lunch (the food really is delish) and a good catch up.  They were keen to hear about my recent experience in hospital (they are both qualified nurses and still work in a healthcare capacity but not on wards) and they were laughing helplessly at some of my anecdotes.  It seems not much has changed since their time on the wards! 

After lunch we had a good old wander round the place.  Agnes and I saw lots of beautiful antique jewellery (I always wonder about the hands and necks the rings and necklaces once belonged to) that we would happily own must remember this in the run up to our 35th wedding anniversary in August ;-) as well as smiling in recognition at some of the items for sale as they could have come from either of our grandmother's houses.

They also sell new items and I was particularly taken with the sofas in my blip (D looked at me like I had lost my mind when I said I liked them :-))) The tailors dummy looked well used and again I wondered about all the outfits that started life on its shoulders.  Adrian has recently taken up golf again after a two year hiatus so I suggested he might like to buy the little golfer for their hallway to keep his golf umbrellas in.  It was a definite no from both him and Agnes!  hahahahahahahaha! 

We left at 4.30pm having managed not to buy anything but with a note to self to look for an old piggy bank that's languishing in the loft somewhere with about £8 in it, as there was a Clydesdale Bank £10 note for sale in one of the cabinets for £85! 

Anges and Adrian stayed for dinner except we were still so full up from lunch, we didn't have any.  Some nibbles and hummus were all we could manage as we became very competitive watching the usual Saturday night quiz shows.  We had a right giggle.  Oh and Lola was very keen to cuddle with Agnes.  Just as well she adores dogs (and Lola in particular :-)

They left just after 9pm so D and I settled down with a cuppa and an old episode of Vera.  Still catching up with that.  And I managed to stay awake! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.