flavia13

By flavia13

LAKE BASSENTHWAITE

We set off when we were ready this morning, a bit too early really as the journey was so good it did not take long at all.

We stopped of the Reghed Centre for coffee.  Great Coffee but really there is so little here now apart from some exhibitions and the cinema.  I remember when it was heaving with a lot of great artisan shops.  Ahh well it was still a nice place to stop and the coffee was good.

We then stopped at the viewing point on the A66 for me to take some photos of Lake Bassenthwaite.  The sky was sooooo blue it was incredible.

The views we had all the way up were staggering.  Snow capped mountains and blue skies - PERFECT.  The snow capped mountains really took my breath away - STUNNING.  No matter what now today was excellent.

We go to Bassenthwaite Lake Station early so wandered around the site, did a bit of bird watching and then had a walk around Dubwath Nature Reserve.  It's a lovely little reserve and so well kept and maintained.  Not much to see today but still a pleasant walk all the same.

Then we had lunch on the train.  The food is excellent.  My only problem the train was soooooooo hot that it spoiled it a little for me, not much though we just didn't stay long.

My check in time was 3.00 pm so we decided to head to Sainsbury's in Cockermouth and do that bit of shopping we need for our few days here.  That was very busy but we managed to get what we needed.

We arrive about 2.45 but that was not a problem.  The self catering apartment is GORGEOUS and the bedroom is HUGE.  We needn't have bought some of what we did because we had such a lovely surprise on arrival, waiting for us was:
A full bottle of Prosecco
A small packet of Lindor chocolates
A vase of fresh tulips
A hamper with cereals, bananas, pastries, coffee and 2 pints of milk in the fridge - AMAZING.

We've now settled in and whilst I'm at the little dining table typing this there is a flurry of garden birds right outside the window having lots of fun and making me laugh.

That's it from me for today.  I will try to catch up with you when I can, I am just going to edit the rest of the photos I took today now.

Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.