flavia13

By flavia13

WHITEHAVEN

First of all thank you all so much for the lovely comments, stars and several hearts for yesterday's blip - I am thrilled that you all liked it so much.  It's so lovely to belong to a site that is always so positive and friendly - a rare thing these days unfortunately.

A glorious morning but as it was meant to cloud over we decided to go The Beacon Museum in Whitehaven today.

Whilst eating breakfast the sparrows, tits and a robin kept us entertained with so much activity and so many of them, at one time there were at least 10 of them.  So funny to entertaining to watch.

Wow I'm so glad we did.  We ended up in a different car park than I intended but this meant that we had a lovely walk along the harbour.  Very chilly with a stiff breeze but bright blue skies with a few clouds.   You have to watch your steps because although they are mostly flagstones they are very uneven and have differing cambers on them.

We enjoyed our walk along the Harbour and then spent a good 3 hours in The Beacon.   Such a fantastic museum and one we have wanted to visit to a while but it was always too far.  It also has a great cafe called The Howling Wolf.  Lovely coffee and the most delicious iced cinnamon buns, I confess I had a small one - hubby of course had a large one!!!

Then we started off on the 4th floor, where I found the toy museum section, just small but lovely and magnificent views.  Then went into the Lowry exhibition, which was interesting.  I loved the section just before The Gallery where local primary school children had made a diorama and lots of vehicles out of paper entirely inspired by Lowry's paintings.

Then we just worked out way down.  The history of Whitehaven was very interesting, so not great but some amazing as well of course.  Then we went out to find out all about Sellafield.  So interesting and much more detailed and safety conscious than people give them credit for.  

We were now flagging as this had taken us a good 3 hours.  So we then went back down to the cafe for a light lunch.  Hubby had the soup, which was coconut, coriander and sweet potato and delicious with some lovely bread.  I had the goats cheese, walnuts, leaves, sundried tomatoes and new potatoes salad - no olives as I really do not like olives at all I'm afraid.  Delicious.   A pot of tea as well of course

Then we walked along to look at an old masted ship - a replica I think.  A good walk along the harbour again.  By now it was very cloudy and chilly but still dry.  Walked along  the North Pier to the Lighthouse.  The other landmarks were too difficult to get to today because there is a lot of construction work going along in that area.

Popped into Tescos for a couple of things for tonight then back to the accommodation.  

I now have to edit all the photos I took today - way too many, but I've picked out a couple for you.  I will eventually -do a collage or two.

Such a fabulous day.I'm so glad we came up this way.

Do take care everyone and stay safe.  I will see you all tomorrow.  I will catch up with your all blips later on this evening.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.