Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Trumped and crisped…

I wanted to see the doctor I've had for a while, as I know she's leaving soon, so I rang this morning at 8am as usual. I can always get an appointment. However, this morning, a recorded voice said, 'All today's appointments have been filled'. What? Is there a new system??

So Archie and I wandered up (later) to ask at the surgery. It seems that the 'appointments filled' message was switched on on Friday when needed, and not switched off again! DUH! So we had a sunny walk round the graveyard instead. 

It was such a nice sunny day, JR decided to take Archie for a big walk round Queen's Park, but when she set off, she realised that it was colder than it was this morning, and there was a chilly breeze, so a sheltered stroll in the Hermitage was decided instead. And they walked miles, right through the woods and round by shops and back over the Links. (18, 046 steps)

Meanwhile, I fixed the grass roof on the shed roof that was blown off in the storms when we were in Australia. Then I sat and ate my way through a bag of black pepper and sea salt hand cooked crisps (didn't mean to) and listened to a couple of episodes of the podcast 'Trumped’' (which is a bit like being 'Markled'). It's about him buying up land in Aberdeenshire in early 2000s to build 'the world's best golf course' with a 500 bed hotel and other accommodation. Trouble was, the sand dunes were protected, being unique and of Special Scientific Interest. Only two episodes available, but can't wait for the next instalments: Enter Alec Salmond...

Archie still dozing peacefully during the day (except when out on walks) but at night he's rampaging around, unable to settle for more than five minutes to sleep. He eventually falls asleep, exhausted, in the wee small hours. So do we...

Photo by JR


PS I’ve just realised that this is my 12 year blip anniversary!!  12 years of twaddle and waffle and an occasional marginally more interesting holiday. Thank you to all who look in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.