A day in the life

By Shelling

Struggling

Struggling but existing seems to be the reality for these early individuals among the Hepatica nobilis, or "Blåsippa" as we call it, 'Blue anemone' in English. Blue anemone is actually a parallell name for it in Sweden too, one of the songs we sing when we do the Evert Taube show is called 'Blå anemone'. Evert Taube was active in the first half of the 19-hundreds and was from Gothenburg, where English sailors had a big impact on the Swedish language, maybe the name is more in use in western Sweden, I don't know. The fact that they have arrived, despite the chilly weather warms my heart though, it's one of the really early signs of spring here.  

On my walk through The Grove today I saw several moss-clad rocks that seemed to have "hair" on top of them, are they flowers? Mr.Wikipedia tells me that moss spreads via spores, not flowers and that these hairs are actually the moss' spore-capsules. I was sure they were flowers but obviously I've learned something this very Tuesday, amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.