Look Out

By chrisf

Garden Gate

I had an appointment in Gatley late morning, and afterwards visited the National Trust property at Quarry Bank which was just over 10 minutes away. Unbelievably, I think we last visited some 10 years ago, since when it has changed hugely. On a sunny afternoon it was just fabulous, the Mill really is something special. And the grounds are fantastic to walk around. I’ll be visiting again soon, there was much that I didn’t see.

The main image is part of the garden gate to the walled garden, which I don’t think was open to the public 10 years ago. It’s a wonderful space. The glasshouses are excellent. In the smaller one a queen buff tailed bumblebee was feasting on the flowers, my first bee photo of 2024 had to be the extra.

I found myself thinking - J would have loved this. I think that’s inevitably going to be a recurring thought this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.