CrocusMan

By TonyG

A Little Sunshine

Goes a long way!

It certainly showed off my latest creations in a favourable light this morning.  There's a pearlescence in some stoneware glazes which really brings them alive in strong light.  This one, with most of the others, was made while I was in Hull with Jamie last month and featured in an earlier blip, before first firing.  They've all come out really well.

An early start to get the car to the garage for a full service.  It was also time for a new cam belt and as they found two broken springs it turned out to be a very expensive day's work.   There's still a couple of things to sort ... including fixing the headlight that failed last night!   I thought it fortuitous that the car was in today when that happened so it's very unfortunate that it was forgotten after I had told them.  C'est la vie.

Meg had a walk from the garage to the vets where her mouth was pronounced as healing well, then a longer walk back home again.   On a lovely sunny day I spent quite a lot of time in the garden and greenhouse.  A major weeding job done and my Pleione and some Rhodohypoxis repotted.   Later a happy three hours at pottery glazing three of four shallow bowls that came out of a bisque firing this morning.  They all have indented patterns and I have chosen slightly fiddly glazing options ... hopefully they will work out OK.   

As I type, the wind is roaring outside.   When I heard the radio forecast this morning for easterly winds ... in the east .... I hoped they would not arrive here from that direction too.  Accelerated by passing through and over the mountains they're the most destructive winds we get, battering my little plants as well as the big trees :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.