Devonian

By Mover

The Turf

Is a an old pub which stands at the meeting point of the river  Exe and the Exeter Ship Canal. Visited many times.
Called in twice yesterday on our walk to Topsham. Coffee then soup on the way back. It was windy and cold so sitting outside looking  towards Exmouth was out of the question. It was also cordoned off so the turf could dry out. In the extra is my first internet cat photo. Not my thing really but I am told they are very popular so I am expecting this to go viral. We got on well and the cat particularly recommended the fish. “ Go on “, it said, “ blip me, you know you want to,” and I did.
There are old photos and bits of history on the walls including a letter from a wartime landlord. He said the outbuildings at the rear of the pub, which are still there , were used to store coffins in case Exeter suffered another blitz. Eerie. All the birds were hunkered down so only Canada and Brent geese were evident. Felt lucky to be able to do just what we please, in peace, and discover something new every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.