A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

International Women's Day.

I’m afraid I don’t really have a blip to illustrate this important day.
It always takes me back 11 years to our stay in Bangkok, on our way back from New Zealand, a small basket was placed on my pillow labelled for International Women’s Day and on the other side was the statement ‘To a woman who makes a remarkable day.’  I still have it on my bedside table and it holds my lip balm, a small pot of Tiger balm and a relaxation roll in from Neal’s Yard.

Book group after Tittle Tattle this morning, we were discussing Shuggie Bain which I thought was excellent. Our next book is perhaps a nod to the day ‘ Girl, Woman, Other’. Booker prize winner in 2019 by Bernardine Evaristo.

Back to World Book Day which was yesterday, I received pictures from my daughter during the interval of Sunset Boulevard last night of Eda dressed as Katie Morag for the book ‘Katie Morag and the Tiresome Ted’ - extra. I was delighted as I introduced her to these books by bringing them back from all our visits to Scotland.

I enjoyed Sunset Boulevard, eventually, it took a bit of getting into but I particularly liked the twist at the end. Better still I was able to catch up with Mambo and her lovely daughter Rebecca at the interval.

Happy International Women’s day everyone.

What woman doesn’t like tulips, these are nearly three weeks old so I think that makes them pretty remarkable. I’ve swapped them with the double daffodils I posted on Wednesday and put them on the dining table as I can’t bring myself to throw them out.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.