Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

UAE Flower Farm

(9/3/24)

After yesterday's high and late night, I woke up at my usual time and checked Instagram for pictures/reviews of the concert. As it happens so often, more is placed in front of your eyes than you were looking for. An image of a European-style garden with the words "You won't believe what's in the UAE" caught my attention. We now have a flower farm - in Fujairah! Ninety minutes away from Dubai, it said. I decided immediately that we had to check it out today, but first, I needed to put in a few hours at work, so I got to my desk and worked half a day.

Come lunchtime and a quick shower, we raced out. It seems I was scant on the details of this place and exactly how far it is as G kept asking, "Are we there yet?" We finally walked through the entrance at 4:20 PM. Not bad for only becoming aware of it at 8 AM! ;))

The first thing I saw as I emerged from the car was a woman behind the fence with a massive camera lens. I couldn't help thinking how effortless she made it look! G stopped moaning and thoroughly enjoyed walking around the garden and taking pictures. Wanting to leave home ASAP, I had not thought carefully about which lens we might need to photograph flowers. *Sigh* To make it worse, we were informed that the whole place will close for the season on 10th March.

As you will see from the extras, G photographed me holding a Nikon camera with a 600mm Nikkor lens.** Incredible! We gave the onsite cafe some custom and decided to head home, except G wanted to see the sea, "now that we've come so far." Dibba and Khor Fakkan were much further to get to than anticipated, but we enjoyed seeing the East Coast on a Friday night.

We came home via Rafisah Dam, listening to Joseph & his Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat! Traffic was fine until we got into Karama, where it took nearly 20 minutes to navigate a 1km stretch. We decided to support our local Lebanese restaurant, but that was a disaster. Shish Tawook made of "plastic" chicken. Yuck! We sent it back, and they sent us a "machine chicken" instead.

** Actually G clicked nearly all the pictures here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.