Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Early morning

(2/3/23)

Wow. We had a super early start despite a late night - for me, anyway. 5:30 to leave home by 7. I need to drop the car off at the garage to get the new turbo fitted, but as G also needs to get to school, I dropped her off, did the recycling (my pic), dropped the car off and then caught a taxi to work! I made it in at 9. Phew!

The team I work with is responsible to deliver the UAE version of Comic Con, which takes place this weekend. Several of them travelled to Abu Dhabi to start the build. I was able to secure a pass for my nephew, who is into comics and super heroes.

I haven't heard back from my bosses on a proposal I made for my services, so I guess I am on lesser hours from today. I left at 3:30, hoping it would be easier to get a taxi, but no, it was just as hard. I had to resort to a more expensive Uber equivalent.

Jeff & Margaret were in the flat when I got home. They had collected G from school. We had already arranged to take them for dinner for Margaret's birthday, which was yesterday. I haven't heard from my nephew despite being in the country for three hours.

I finally heard from him minutes before we were scheduled to leave for dinner. It emerged that friends had gone to the airport to pick him up and they hijacked him! So we caught up at the restaurant. The SA meeting followed. It's been a long day. Poor Danny (nephew). He had to "work" into the night as he had deadlines to submit some cartoon drawings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.