The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

International Washing Day

(A pun on International Women's day. I won't be celebrating this day, or a washing day, until the international situation for women,  or access to clean water, improves globally. Lip service is not enough).

The pest control man came at 9. The plumber came at 9. I'm pleased to report that they had both left before 10. The pc man left some bait in the loft and confirmed my suspicion that the mice are probably in between the walls. He pointed out lots of holes in the house (oh my goodness) and told me how to block them. Said that the mice are probably getting in through the holes, and the air bricks. We have to get some air brick covers, apparently available from a DIY store. He'll be back next week with more bait. I could have done that part myself. (Indie the cat does not get up in the loft).

The plumber, who adores our cat, replaced the heat exchanger. We have properly hot hot water again!  He had also replaced the time switch earlier in the week, and fixed the dripping tap. The reason that the heat exchanger had broken is that we hadn't replaced the tap washers earlier. (This is because we once got charged £60 for a replacement washer that took five minutes' labour, and left us with the other tap leaking!) 

Paul the plumber and I also talked about his desire to go camping/touring in the Highlands. I may have given him some tips about the West. 

When they had gone, I lay on my back getting dust bunnies in my hair trying to fix some of the holes. Hard work. Then I attended a Zoom class online on standing Pilates. I turned the camera OFF. 

Decided against going to the Trinity Rooms for lunch. I was enjoying the sunshine at home. CS was at the market. I hung the washing outside (first time this year?) and attended another Zoom about gourds and cucumbers(!) but I wasn't really listening. I'm only interested in the language and mythology aspect. I was still trying to block up tiny holes and look at campsites on the Gower (another holiday plan). 

And so the day progressed. By the end of it I'd managed to book a ticket for Womad 24 (my sister K, her son N and his girlfriend F are also going) and the campsite that we'll be staying at between Womad and the Green Gathering). Not long after I'd booked it and paid, I went to Trip Advisor and found some terrible reviews! 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.