Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Spring is in the Air

It was very gloomy this morning, a prelude to a steady rain that started mid-day.  Knowing what was coming, I took advantage of a little time in the hide this morning, enjoying the even light than an overcast sky always provides.  Even though it is early in the season, the birds are starting to sing - today I heard the first trilling songs of the dark-eyed juncos; the cardinals and finches have been singing for a few weeks; the blackbirds are singing; and the woodpeckers are drumming.  A very pleasant symphony.

Today's image is a pair of House Finches (male above) who started out ignoring each other and then had a short interaction that appeared more aggressive than courtship.  Hard to tell sometimes.  It's not uncommon for the females to seemingly get annoyed with the male's singing and go after them.  Which is kind of funny really.  

I'm feeling a bit draggy with sniffles and a sore throat but think it is the drop in barometric pressure wreaking havoc with my sinuses.  I am determined that I am not going to catch Hubs' cold.  He says he's past the worst of it today, although he's still tired and showing cold symptoms.  

I started Nelson Mandela's autobiography "The Long Walk to Freedom" today and am really enjoying it.  It's hard to keep all the various tribal names straight but the writing is very engaging and interesting.  

And, oh my, I'm leaving for SA in TWO weeks!!!  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.