BJH

By BJH

Back on the nest

Just before I had to get ready for the sanctuary this afternoon an unexpected appointment at 10:30am tomorrow morning popped up and I still have so much to prepare for it that I don't know whether I'm going to be able to get it all done and manage to get some sleep as well.

After the walk with the Turkish Shepherd mum I had some shopping to do and on the way home I cycled to the location where the appointment will take place so I won't have to search for it tomorrow.

When I rode past the artificial island I saw that one of the adult Great Crested Grebes was sitting on a nest again. The other adult and two grown chicks were floating on the water. I couldn't stay long enough to wait for the bird on the nest to get up so I don't know if they already have any eggs yet, but I did manage to take this photo of one of the chicks when it was closest to the nest. I wish the quality could have been somewhat better but it t had been overcast the whole day and at 6pm the light was getting quite poor unfortunately.

Thank you so much for the kind comments and stars on my busy bee blip from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.