carliewired

By carliewired

75 F/ 24 C

It's a morning to
walk the 'estate' and to take
my inventory

~carliewired 

As usual, I was up in the dark making my coffee. I sat in my recliner looking out the front windows as the sun came up. 

I feel no incentive to leave the house today. I can find jobs to do at my leisure. 

I walked out the back door to check out what was happening in my yard. The mockingbird landed in my orange tree but was not singing today. I wondered if this could be the female of the species. There is one singing up in another tree. 

The orange tree is just starting to show buds. I cleaned off most of the old oranges yesterday. I didn't find an agitated hummingbird so it must have moved on.

 I did notice a gnarly lemon up at the top of the tree. Some years ago we cut a branch off the orange tree as it had produced some ugly fruits that were black and dried out. We'd assumed the branch was diseased so we cut it off. Later, I reasoned that this branch could have been a graft of a lemon on the orange tree to act in pollination of the orange. I see something of it has survived. 

I found a datura blooming in my backyard. It's not one to touch as it can cause dermatitis. It suddenly appeared after all the rain. Also blooming is the prickly pear cactus just inside my gate. I love that bright pink. 

My battle with woodpeckers continues. They won't stay out of my hummingbird feeder and leave it somewhat polluted when done. I rap heavily on my kitchen window when I see one on the feeder. That scares it off, but it will return. I spotted one high up in my palm trees this morning. 

Across the street, my neighbour has been taken off to hospital in an ambulance yesterday. I'm hearing that he's waiting on a bed in a veteran's facility as he's not able to care for himself anymore. I wish him well. 

My next door neighbour had his truck towed away due to a breakdown. He's driving a friend's car until he gets his truck back. We talked over the fence this morning. D is worried what that repair is going to cost him. 

A fellow dropped by this morning to offer to do some maintenance on my roof. I've agreed to a price and he will hopefully get it all done by tomorrow. 

I will happily  remain at home today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.