Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Working it

In the interest of full disclosure, I found this ladybug in the house and carefully carried it out to the garden and put it in one of the dwarf iris patches.  After that, nature took over and the wee beetle started capering around the flowers.  I didn't really do anything to this image other than a crop - the colors were already rich and vibrant without any help from human hands.  

It is warmish and sunny today and I was really hoping I might catch a glimpse of a jumping spider in the garden, but nothing.  I did see a few honeybees dipping into the irises but I think it is still just a bit chilly for them.  The next few days the temps will be well into the 60's so hopefully more arthropods will show their faces (yes, I know some of you are shuddering at the thought...). 

While I was out, I figured I'd also do a little work in the gardens so I dug up some things that I wanted to replace.  Naturally, everything I needed to dig up had massive tubers or root systems and my hands gave out rather quickly.  At least I got a little bit done.  Jax was supervising.  Surprisingly, he isn't a digging dog (and for that, I'm grateful).  Mostly he just followed me around, flopping out on the ground nearby where he could keep me firmly in his sights.  He's good company.

I am debating whether to take my Sigma 100-400 f.5.6-6.3, or my 300 f/4 lens to SA as I can't logistically take both.  I'm leaning towards the latter because I really do love that lens.  Plus, with a 1.7 TC, it will give me 500 mm at f6.3 which isn't bad.  It is also a bit lighter than the Sigma although once I put a TC on, the weight difference is negligible.  Decisions, decisions...

We watched "A Few Good Men" last night and really enjoyed it.  Jack Nicholson was brilliant in this role; actually all of the casting was very good.  It definitely falls into the category of "entertaining" rather than inspiring or funny.  Just a very enjoyable, well done movie.  

Dark with sea salt today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.