Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Handsomest Boy

I'm sure every dog owner feels the same about their dog, and I'm sure we all correct.  Because of his markings and dark muzzle, Jax can be a very serious looking dog at times which I've tried to capture here.  A less serious looking shot in Extra, showing his rather whimsical flying-nun ears.

Another gorgeous day so I spent quite a bit of time out in the garden (with Jax, of course) tending to some early weeds and removing a few more plants that have taken over.  The daffodils in the garden are just starting to open - the white ones always seem to bloom first for some reason.  Oh, and I spotted my first Northern Paper Wasp queen today, having a lazy flight around the garden.  She will go back to ground as it isn't quite warm enough yet for her to start this year's colony, but nice to see her lazily floating around.  I also saw a butterfly - either an Eastern Comma or a Question Mark.  Impossible to tell from a distance as the two species are almost identical.  They are two of only a few butterfly species that overwinter here as adults, surviving deep freezes, snow, ice and rain to emerge each spring.  Like the wasp, it won't stay out for long yet.

I think I've got some allergies going on today - feeling very sinusy and have a sore throat.  It's the time of year, I guess.  

I'm almost halfway done with Nelson Mandela's book, "Long Walk to Freedom" and still enjoying it very much.  And Osuzanna reminded me of another book I want to read, "Out of Africa" so I downloaded that to my Kindle this afternoon.  Perhaps it will be a good book to read on the plane.  Countdown Clock is T-10!

Last night we watched "The Big Sick" on Amazon - what a fun and charming movie!  I wasn't sure what to expect, but thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.