ArcLight+

By ArcLight

St Andrews at night

Once upon a time, I seemed to go regularly to St Andrews, mainly to chair hustings. The first was a memorable occasion, although not memorialised with a photo. The last was a great sunset. I haven't been there for work since 2016, although I was there for pleasure with friends in 2017. Today, I went back for work again, speaking at a book launch event for an edited collection in which I have a chapter.

It made more sense not to come back to Edinburgh yesterday, just in order to go back to St Andrews today, but rather to drive from Tain to St Andrews, do the event, have dinner with colleagues (they kindly invited Mr A), and then drive back to Edinburgh tonight. So that's what we did. We included a lengthy stop at the Newtonmore Truck Stop, which has been recommended to me as a stopping option on a journey north (or south) by the Lord President of the Court of Session, no less. Judicially approved. Anyway, it's been Arclight-approved too, now. We enjoyed a trucker's breakfast and then sat in the car whilst I did a Teams meeting on their excellent wifi on my phone. Definitely an experience I would repeat. From there, it was another relatively short hop to St Andrews. So quite a lot of driving today, but it was all broken up into reasonably small chunks.

I've just been sitting in my chair to get something finished that needed sending in tomorrow, when I have zero time for anything other than meetings. And winding down. Now I'm off to bed. I hope I sleep as I have another long day tomorrow. Boy, I'm going to be glad to get to the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.