SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Test

After walking Django on a dull morning, I went into work, where I attended a 90-minute meeting on Knowledge Exchange and Impact. Although I questioned why, we went through the discussion I've heard once a year for ten years - how to motivate staff to engage in activities that create impact outside the academic world. The School has to pretend that it's encouraging it, but the incentives will all be watered down because the powerful half the School can't benefit from them because what they do will never have impact.

After lunch with close colleague J, I attended a vaguely interesting seminar, by a very competent young German researcher. I then had a discussion with prospective PhD student N, about her strategy now she's been offered a funded place elsewhere.

I didn't get back to setting my exam paper, because our developer came back into the office, and we had a good chat about his work. Afterwards, I was kept busy with queries from my class ahead of their test tomorrow. Fortunately I remembered to print tomorrow's test paper before leaving, giving me this late view north from our photocopying room.

At home I made a mushroom risotto, including a pack of dried porcini. It was delicious, and there's plenty left for A when she gets in

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.