River of Flowers

By doffy

Thrifty Thursday: Mushrooms

I bought these mushrooms at Lidl this morning - they will last for a week or more because I do the following: 
fold a sheet of kitchen roll in half then take the mushrooms, one at a time, and using another sheet of kitchen roll remove any compost from the mushroom and lay it on the other sheet of kitchen roll. When their plastic container is empty, use the dirty piece of kitchen roll to thoroughly clean and dry the inside of the plastic container.
Take the doubled up sheet of kitchen roll and use it to line the cleaned plastic container then start transferring the clean mushrooms, stalks down, into the plastic container. Finishing off with another folded sheet of kitchen roll over the mushrooms to separate them from the cellophane outer covering.
I’ve done the above for a few years now having, unintentionally, wasted mushrooms because they sweat then degrade very quickly and I hated having to throw them away :-(

Returned my purchase from Matalan, got a refund then we went down the A55 to Llangefni, picked up a sack of sunflower seeds for the birds, bought groceries in Lidl then picked up some “special items” from HomeBargins, then home for lunch.

MrD carried on with the construction of my little garden potting bench, using recycled wood from my old garden seat, see Tuesday’s Blip …

We had lots of very heavy rain for most of the day.

Love and hugs to all my family XXXX XXX XX

Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.